Also available in: Deutsch

Even in 2020, anyone who is looking for a new men’s watch will not be able to avoid one trend: retro watches. Atlantic Worldmaster Original Review 53654.41.65S

Many manufacturers are reviving their old icons from the past century. It does not matter which epoch is revived. From the Bauhaus watches of the 1920s to the modernity of the 60s and the first digital watches of the 80s, everything is included. The market with its different price ranges is huge and confusing. So, the best time to present you one of my favorites among the new editions today. This one comes from Atlantic. We are talking about “The Original” from the Worldmaster collection of the Swiss manufacturer. “The Original” revives the great 1950s, a very stylish and classic watch, which is absolutely trendy at the moment. I would like to introduce you to the special features of this watch and the experiences I have had with it. 

Atlantic Worldmaster The Original Review 53654.41.65S

What you need to know about Atlantic

Atlantic can look back on a long tradition. Founded in 1888 by Eduard Kummer in the small village of Bettlach in Switzerland, the manufacture is one of the oldest in Swiss watchmaking. Since Kummer and his employees had quickly made a name for themselves with good craftsmanship, the company had become a well-known manufacturer of components for major watch brands such as Longines. Atlantic, by the way, has only been called the Manufacture since the 1930s, when the watches of the same name were introduced to the market with a maritime design and a waterproof case, which was watertight for the first time. Those of you who appreciate the quick correction of the date on your chronograph – we also have to thank Atlantic for this technical innovation, who invented the function in 1960. 

So we can look back on an eventful history. The Worldmaster Original collection, which also includes our “The Original”, is the top model and figurehead at Atlantic. The current collection is designed to bring back the iconic original in its 50s guise. Atlantic Worldmaster Original Review 53654.41.65S.

READ MORE:  Daniel Wellington Men's Watches

The first impression – Atlantic Worldmaster Original Review

“This is supposed to be mid-range?” That was more or less my first thought when i opened the box and looked at the original. The classic black watch is of an incredibly high quality, Swiss made of course. The stainless steel case makes a robust impression. With a case diameter of 42 millimeters the Original is quite stately. The design of the black dial is very simple and classic, which I really like. It comes with a black leather strap. Actually there shouldn’t be anything wrong with this watch, should there? But that would be a bit too great for the price of only 620 Swiss francs, thus nearly 580 euro. So my task: find out where the price is noticeable. At first sight, you would expect at least a price in the low four-digit range. 

Atlantic Worldmaster The Original Review 53654.41.65S

The case – Atlantic Worldmaster Original Review

I have missed a case like this in some high priced chronographs and watches. The processing under the use of stainless steel is very good. On my wrist, the watch with its diameter of 42 millimeters makes quite a difference. The surfaces are polished throughout, a welcome change to the brushed stainless steel cases. The crown is also made of stainless steel, but is not screwed down. I liked the comfort of operation, as the crown is of sufficient size and has a curved surface.

Atlantic Worldmaster The Original Review 53654.41.65S

Atlantic makes no compromises in the choice of materials. „The Original“ is equipped with a very robust, scratch-resistant and high-quality sapphire crystal. The classic design in the style of the 1950s can also be found here. The sapphire crystal is slightly domed to match the surface of the crown. Atlantic Worldmaster Original Review 53654.41.65S.

Even if the design is pleasantly restrained overall – there are still small conspicuous features, in this case on the case back. Here, there’s a circular glass window with a view of the movement, but i’ll come back later on that. All important specifications are engraved around the window. The case back is screwed six times. The case of „The Original“ is waterproof up to a pressure of 5 bar, so you can dive with „The Original“ to a depth of 50 meters.

READ MORE:  Casio G-SHOCK GMW B5000TB Review

The movement – Atlantic Worldmaster Original Review

Of course, a Swiss watch needs a traditional movement a la “Swiss Made”. In this case it comes from the manufacturer ETA. It is a 2804-2 with 17 jewels, which is known for its good workmanship and its durability. The movement of „The Original“ is manually wound, even if some other watches from the Worldmaster Original collection have an automatic winding. I especially like the view through the case back. Here you can see the movement in its full splendor. It is partly skeletonized. Some gears have golden accents, some screws are transparent and red. Let’s recall again: a watch with a partly skeletonized movement and a transparent case back – and that in the middle price range. This is simply strong and deserves special praise!

The dial – Atlantic Worldmaster Original Review

Ultimately, it is the dial that gives the original Atlantic that special something. This is where the characteristic design in the style of the 50s is most noticeable. The main dial is black. It is divided by a vertical and a horizontal fine line, which reminds me somehow remotely of a radar. The three hands as well as the indices are in stainless steel look and fit perfectly to the shiny case. The numbers 3, 6, 9 and 12 are written in Arabic, the typography is simple and beautiful. All other numbers are double marked and have a very filigree shape. The small but fine details can also be found here. So the second hand has a red triangle at the end, which I like very much. The ring, on which the indices are located, consists of a small black and silver pattern, which gives the dial depth.

READ MORE:  AMURAI PROJECT

Fine lines indicate the individual minutes and seconds, dots indicate the 5 minute and second steps.  The eye-catching feature of the dial is the “Atlantic Worldmaster” marking printed in handwriting-like typography. There is no better way to create that “retro feeling”. Atlantic Worldmaster Original Review 53654.41.65S.

Atlantic Worldmaster The Original Review 53654.41.65S

The bracelet – Atlantic Worldmaster Original Review

The black crocodile-look leather strap fits harmoniously into the overall picture. Even though you often have to get used to a new leather watchband first, the wearing comfort was very good after only a few days. I always notice this when I don’t feel the bracelet in everyday life. That was the case here.

My conclusion

I’ve given up looking for the fault with this watch. In the middle price segment such a good quality of material and workmanship is a real rarity. For around 580 Euros, „The Original“ from Atlantic brings everything your heart desires. So it is not surprising that the Swiss manufacturer calls this collection its “flagship” and “figurehead”. So there should be no misgivings on these points. Other factors are more decisive – which brings us directly to the topic: the retro watch trend. Where does the Atlantic Worldmaster Original fit in? Right at the top! Here we are talking about a question of design. And that is really something to be proud of. The classic 50s look is iconic and timelessly beautiful. So if you’re looking for a men’s watch that’s trendy and chic, goes with any outfit and embodies “Swiss Made” quality, this piece is definitely worth considering!

All data

Retro vintage

product family:

Worldmaster Original

Movement: Manual winding

Manufacturer: ETA

Design: 2804-2

Housing material: steel

Colour of the housing: steel

Size (diameter): 42mm

Screw-down crown: No

Sapphire glass

Colour of the dial: Black

Luminous hands: No

Waterproof: 5 bar

Bracelet: leather

Coloured bracelet / strap: Black

Limited edition: No

Gallery – All Photos by WATCHDAVID®

Here you find Atlantic Watches: